This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

9.2 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.3
Comfort
8.8
Property location
9.1
Facilities
8.8
Staff
9.5
Value
9.3
Reviews
    Arjan
    nl
    8.8
    11 February 2018
    -
    Friendly staff (owners). Nice garden, relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast in the big house, simple but good.
    Robert
    gb
    9.2
    2 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Marika
    de
    10
    29 January 2018
    amazing
    Andrea and Ruben were such friendly hosts that I felt very welcome and their house is so beautiful that I enjoyed it very much to stay there.
    Daniel
    gb
    9.2
    7 January 2018
    The hosts are very nice.
    Stephanie
    de
    9.2
    7 January 2018
    Beautiful nature with wonderful hosts
    This is the perfect place to relax and enjoy nature! Amazing garden, super cute dog, nice view of the mountains, a nice restaurant nearby and very welcoming and nice hosts. We stayed here for five nights and enjoyed it a lot. We can only recommend going here - but you really need a car around here. Thanks Ruben!
    Arild
    no
    5.8
    31 December 2017
    OK
    gb
    10
    19 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Anne
    nl
    6.2
    24 September 2017
    Bit disappointing...
    Unfortunately, our stay was a bit disappointing. Upon arrival, there was no one at the house and it took a while and a lot of phone calls before we could reach the owners. We were then told they would be traveling to the mainland and would not be there the rest of our stay. One of the following days we came back after a day of hiking to find the guest houses had no water pressure (which meant no water, no shower, and only being able to flush the toilet once) - and again could not reach anyone. Furthermore, there was at least one (pretty big) cockroach in the room. Taken together, this all made our stay less comfortable than we had hoped!
    This guest house consists of a main house with a common kitchen/living area and a smaller house with three guest rooms, all surrounded by a beautiful garden. Breakfast is served in the main house and consists of a variety of bread, cakes, jams, cheese, yoghurt, etc. The owners seemed very friendly.
    us
    9.6
    15 September 2017
    Uncomfortable mattress
    The hosts were great and the property was peaceful and beautiful. I felt very comfortable and safe there.
    anagard
    rs
    10
    8 September 2017
    House with stanning mountain and oceanic views. Perfect hospitality.
    View
    Claire
    fr
    10
    18 July 2017
    Very good accomodation
    Nothing
    The hosts were very friendly and gave us advices for visiting. We felt like home!
    Marc
    be
    10
    1 July 2017
    Wonderful experience
    I cannot think of anything, really.
    What stroke us most was the hospitality, the spirit and the kindness of our hosts, Ruben and Andrea (and of course, little Antonio): they literally share their house with the guests. But also the accommodation, the setting (and views!), and breakfast were great. Sao Vincente is an excellent hub to explore the northern coast of Madeira and one get in Santana or Porto Moniz (but also in the interior mountains around Encumeada) in no time. All in all, a wonderful experience that will make us visit the island and North Coast Guest House again in the future.
    Kevin
    ca
    10
    21 May 2017
    Great value, incredible location with a warm family welcome
    The grounds and location were the highlights... very serene. Wonderful family that runs the guesthouse.
    brian
    gb
    10
    11 April 2017
    Great place
    Hella
    de
    9.6
    31 March 2017
    beautiful unique accomodation with very kind hosts in amazing nature
    No problems
    Very nice garden, very warm welcome, unique landscape,beautiful breakfastroom, lovely dogs
    ch
    7.9
    5 December 2016
    The room was very cold and damp in the winter (there were 9-12°C outside) and there is no heating in the rooms (which is usually the case on Madeira). Uncomfortable when you return from a rainy and cold excursion. Wet stuff (shoes, backpacks etc.) does not dry overnight but there is a tumbler provided. The main house, where the breakfast is served, is warmer. Bed was too soft.
    The hosts were very friendly. Breakfast was sufficient (cereals with milk, joghurt, 1 breadroll, 1 croissant and one small cake per person, cheese, ham, jam, honey, fruits, coffee, tea). I liked the garden although there was no way to enjoy it in the bad weather we had. The two dogs are not allowed in the house but they wander freely in the garden. I like dogs and they were very friendly and never barked once at us. Beware however that you may touch a damp nose when reaching for the doorhandle to get into the garden :-) Free parking opposite the house on the road.
    Martina
    ch
    9.6
    31 October 2016
    A wonderful place, great people, perfect breakfast!
    Jane
    gb
    10
    16 October 2016
    A hidden gem
    We had a great week but next time, as recommended, we'll rent a car to allow us to explore further afield.
    This is a hidden gem of a place for those who don't want the formality etc of a hotel and who are looking for good basic amenities at a reasonable price. The old house is full of character and the garden is a delight; it's a much loved and cared for space. It's a relaxing and quiet place with beautiful views of the valley and to the sea. Our en-suite room was in an annexe in the garden with a view to the valley and mountains. We did appreciate being able to use the shared kitchen from time to time. We felt free to come and go whenever we wanted to or just chill in the garden. The location is excellent for exploring the north coast. We frequently walked to the town and sea front where there are restaurants, shops etc. and walked a bit in the area too. We took the bus a couple of times but they are less frequent than in Funchal ... next time we'll rent a car! The owners couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant and did everything they could to make our stay a memorable one. I'm sure we'll be back!
    Annafrid
    de
    10
    5 October 2016
    Absolut TOP!!!!!
    Gabriella
    hu
    10
    17 September 2016
    Best place in Madeira
    When we left this place...
    Very nice owners, beautiful house in the nature, garden looks like a tropical ones. Very calm place. You can easily reach the north part of the island from here, but also the south because of the good location. Excellent restaurants by the ocean. Don't miss it!
Loading reviews
Close